About Us

The Dearborn Goodfellows have been assisting needy Dearborn children since the 1920s!

We are a charitable 501(c)(3) organization led by Officers elected at our annual meeting along with a Board of Directors representing a wide spectrum of the Dearborn community. No officer or director is paid or compensated. All of our proceeds go toward addressing and satisfying the needs of Dearborn’s children.

Working with the Dearborn Public School system, the Goodfellows compile a list of Dearborn children to receive Christmas gift packages appropriate for boys and girls between the ages of 2 and 11.

Throughout the year, the Goodfellows are there for extreme hardships and emergencies effecting Dearborn children. These situations often require reaching out to other charitable and community partners, with whom we work closely.

The Dearborn Goodfellows are supported by two main fundraising events; the annual Holiday papers sales and our fall spectacular, Smoke on the Grill. We also take donations and contributions throughout the year.

Our goal is simple: to provide for the immediate needs of Dearborn’s children and generate enough revenue to cover our annual cost.

Holiday paper sales exemplify this goal. Printing and selling papers for donations, our volunteers significantly contribute to our annual revenue. With the generous support of our community leaders and sponsors, 100% of the proceeds generated through paper sales returns to the Goodfellows to ensure that no Dearborn child in need goes without a Christmas!

In addition, the Goodfellows host our annual Smoke on the Grill fundraiser in the early fall of each year. Through the generous sponsorship of the Dearborn Federal Savings Bank as our host, numerous business and community leaders come together for fellowship and fundraising. Highlighting this event is a raffle with donated prizes in 2011 exceeding $7,000! In keeping with the tradition of late Dearborn Mayor, Michael Guido, Smoke on the Grill proceeds are shared with the Dearborn Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA).


John Thompson, president
Mayor John B. O’Reilly, Jr., honorary chairman
Sean Adams, vice president
Nancy Hamood Strutz, secretary
Karl L. Fava, CPA, treasurer

Executive Directors

Lawrence Johnson
John Allevato
Gary Kuhlman

Board of Directors

Bridgette Barreto
David Bazzy
Hussein Berry
Michael Bewick
Scott Bewick
Dan Buhigair
George T. Darany
Rachid Elabed
Lucia Gliese
Steven Guibord
Lyf Johnson
Roxanne McDonald
Ali Moussa
James O’Connor
Jeff Polny
Steven Wielkopolan
William White
Steve Wordon